Toscanini’s and Brown Butter Bakery

It didn’t take me long after moving to Boston to declare Toscanini’s the best ice cream shop in town. My go-to flavor for years has been B3 (brown butter, brown sugar, brownie), and it never disappoints. On a recent visit, I discovered that their freezer was stocked with quaintly packaged ice cream sandwiches.

IMG_5286

I was so surprised to find this novel treat that I went with my usual order that evening, but I couldn’t stop thinking about those ice cream sandwiches after I left.  After doing some research, I learned that the cookies are made by Brown Butter Bakery and filled with various Toscanini’s flavors.  I was sold.  I went back the next week and tried the oatmeal molasses cookie sandwich filled with Ovaltine ice cream.  It was fabulous.  The ratio of ice cream to cookie and overall size were perfect too.

IMG_5179

I noticed that they had three cookie types – oatmeal molasses, dark chocolate, and malted peanut butter – so I vowed to try them all as soon as possible.  The next week, I went to Tosci’s early one morning with a bag of ice in tow so that the ice cream sandwiches wouldn’t melt on my way home. This time, I got a dark chocolate cookie and nocciola ice cream sandwich and a malted peanut butter cookie and belgian chocolate ice cream sandwich.  Since it was early and the pastry case was stocked, I also picked up a pain aux raisins and a brown butter chocolate chip cookie (also made by Brown Butter Bakery).  I couldn’t detect the nutty brown butter flavor in my cookie, but it was tasty and pleasantly soft nonetheless, and the pain aux raisins was made from deliciously buttery, flakey croissant dough.

IMG_5283

IMG_5276

Over the next few days, I tried the remaining two ice cream sandwiches.  Neither disappointed!  The dark chocolate cookie was more intense than I anticipated, but it paired well with the amazingly creamy nocciola filling, which was one of the most clean and pure hazelnut flavors I’ve ever tasted.

IMG_5291

I usually don’t like peanut butter cookies (which is strange, since I can’t go a day without eating peanut butter), but these impressed me.  The malt flavor wasn’t strong, but a natural peanut butter flavor shone through and complemented the belgian chocolate ice cream.

IMG_5304

I spotted an oatmeal molasses-cake batter sandwich while I was there and a dark chocolate-mint, so clearly I’ve only exhausted the cookie options, but am nowhere near done trying all of the cookie-ice cream combos.  I’m so glad that we get to reap the rewards of Tosci’s partnership with Brown Butter Bakery!  Two desserts in one is twice the fun!

2 thoughts on “Toscanini’s and Brown Butter Bakery

Leave a Reply

